Tattoo newbie here, already so upset with myself

anonymous_monkey

I keep reading about people's anxiety after getting a new tattoo, but I really dont think I have the kind of personality who can learn to love something when it’s so different from what I wanted. I can live with size not being perfect. But I dont think I can for the actual design. It's killing me. I thought I would be excited to show my friends straight away, I can't. I cant own it.

I honestly didnt even anticipate this - I always thought I would be happy with what I got, and maybe regret it later (but that feeling would be easier to handle, knowing I got what I wanted at the time, and not want it gone). Not the other way around. But I felt pushed to go with something I don't even like. Going into it I thought i was prepared to be assertive and ask for changes, but in the moment I felt like I should trust her because she's the artist. But it’s my F***ing body, why couldn’t I? She had my deposit, that's what it's for if I didnt like it.

This artist specializes in anime tattoos, I thought she could do something in anime style, not just directly rip a reference I didnt even send. I asked for Link with Navi (from Zelda). I sent all from Twilight Princess (official art + manga) but she got a dif pic completely and then just copied it. Why not copy one of the faces in my inspo if you’re going to copy something?? ALL my refs had an angsty expression, and she gave him a cutesty smile. She also put him in a heart, which doesnt feel like me at all.

My least favourite bit is that little detail in the bottom. It ruins it for me, like it doesnt need to be there? I know it’s his shoulder, but why? Why not make the heart smaller and just not have that? Feels unnecessary and I wanted something simple.