Greetings from Sikkim

cheemsay

Tashi Delek (greetings...in our language),

Hey everybody, I am an Architect by profession and a tattoo novice. I was interested in tattoos as long as I can remember but our society always gives you the cold stare if you have tattoos. Anything more that an a letter or two is a perfect topic for people to mark you an outcast. But as for me, it's an art, a personal art that I want to take it to my grave or as in my culture, go up in smoke with my soul. And, it isn't legal to open a Tattoo parlor! So, it has to be at someones house or at the back of a beauty salon!!

I got my first tattoo when I was in College, a couple of years back, nothing special a simple Tribal piece on my arm. A few months back, a friend of mine gave me his old Tattoo machine, which engulfed me even more into the world of tattooing. I started practicing on practice skins. I then started learning how the Machine really works. Bought two machines. Started researching online about the various aspect of this art. I learned to assemble, dismantle a machine, learn(ing) to Tune it properly, etc. The more I research, the more I want to know. I have, untill now, inked two of my friends. Small pieces, nothing fancy, and they are happy to show it off whenever they can!! I don't want to be labelled as a scratcher and ruin this beautiful art.

Hope ya'll help me and accept me as a member of this community.

Warm Regards,

Z.B.

Welcome! You're not going to find information about the technical aspects of tattooing here, but there's still a lot of great information here in the various threads, and especially in the tattoo artist interview videos. Be sure to watch those, they're the best part of this site.