Blank canvas looking for design help

Alessandra Doernte

I'm a new member so here goes :) I'm a tattoo virgin right now but I'm looking to change that in the next six to eight months. I'm a nursing student at a small college in Kentucky. I'm 22 years old and have a passion for all things adrenaline. I got married over this past summer and I'd like to get a tattoo to commemorate our first anniversary. I'm looking for someone to help me design/give advice on it. I want a Phoenix (three to six inches tall) on the front of my hip. Now here's the part that I want help with, I want my husbands initials (LAD) incorporated into it somehow. There's a lot of meaning behind this for me so Id really appreciate the help. I was in a car accident in 2012. I broke 19 bones and they told me I'd never walk again. My husband was there for me through all of the surgeries and physical therapy to help me learn to walk again. He is my rock and helps me rise above everything, hense the Phoenix. I'm open to all styles and any input!

Alessandra Belle

Welcome Alessandra! I really like the idea of a phoenix tattoo as it has potent symbolism and is a strong, beautiful image. That said, three to six inches tall is too small to do much justice to the idea: when I think of the phoenix tattoos I've seen that I've really loved, what makes them really work is both the way that the shape of the phoenix, especially the tail feathers, flows with the body; I also love the different contrasting patterns in the body, wings, tail, and head. You need space to make that work. I'd also advise against incorporating initials into the tattoo, for the simple reason that I've never seen a tattoo improved by adding initials or anything like that. Tattoos are by themselves meaningful without needing to shoehorn in any additional meaning.

Another new poster here is planning on getting tattooed at Carter's Tattoo Company in Bowling Green, KY and it looks like they do really nice tattoos there.