what's up dudes and dudettes!

newyorker

Hello LST forums, my name is roy and i've just recently registered on this forum!

This is my story.. I would like to hear your opinions.

So i got my first tattoo when i was only 15, HUGE mistake! I got a tribal tatt on my forearm that looks exactly like this. http://tribaltattooist.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Tribal%20Tattoo%20Forearm%2002.jpg

Couple months later, i get a few laser tattoo treatments. The tattoo is still slightly dark but I'm sure it can be covered up by almost anything.(I will upload a picture of it upon request)

anyways, this situation has changed me in many ways. I made me very self aware and insecure, as well as depressed sometimes. I've been hiding my tattoo with long sleeves for 3 years now. Only a couple people even know i have it.. It's totally fucked up my social life. I know it's stupid but at the time, i believed that my tattoo would be removed so i thought i was just covering it until it completely dissapeared. But tattoo removal didn't work so great for me and now I'm seeking a cover up tattoo. Summer is here and i DO NOT want to stay home or make excuses to go outside anymore. I want to be able to wear short sleeves without feeling embarassed and ashamed.

So since i've given up on laser removal, I've been looking into a cover up. The problem is, I can't decide on what style I want to start my sleeve(yes, although my first tattoo scarred me a bit, I'm still really into tattoos and do plan on getting several more!). I want to get a cover up of a japanese style tiger, and eventually work my way up the sleeve with a koi fish on my shoulder and then potentially a large dragon on my back. However, i also have another idea of having smaller tattoos to create a sleeve (wolf in sheep's skin, lion with crown, skulls and roses, etc).

i feel like you can't really go wrong with a high quality japanese sleeve and i'm also a bit scared that i'll regret my cover up.