Introduction

Emily Sewuster

Hi there, Last Sparrow community!

My name is Emily. I'm just a junior tattoo-collector in the making, young of age, and the only patches covered on my body were done by local artists (who, fortunately, also happen to have the most solid portfolios, excellent customer service, technical ability, and, of course, cleanliness around. There are multiple shops in my area, but I am lucky in the fact that the very best is fifteen minutes away from my home.) I'm currently a university student/summer-working-intern saving money for tattoo-oriented travel to the artists whose works tug at my heartstrings as hard as their waiting lists are long.

I've enjoyed lurking the forums and reading the tales of those older than me who have been living my dream of international inking. I started going to my local shop for piercings at age 17 and have since built a rapport with the tattooers and other staff for being in the shop on an extremely frequent basis, whether it's because I have a craving for new jewelery, an adjustment of my current jewelery, or a new stab wound to hold in place with some metal. Years later, I'm taking philosophy courses as electives for university, and I recognize one of the tattoo artists from the shop in class. Given that he was older than your typical university student, I was surprised, but he recognized me immediately and what followed was two semesters of sitting with him, in between which, I bonded with him enough to sit with him for my first tattoo. Turns out this grown man with a wife and an established career was getting a degree in philosophy just because it was a passion of his. I chose to upgrade my philosophy minor into a double-major, and I'm excited to get an appropriate piece from him when I graduate to commemorate my accomplishment.